City Council

Abbeville City Council

The Abbeville City council operates under Mayor-council form of government. In this type of government, the Council alongside the Mayor has the responsibility of determining the policies to be followed in the administration of the municipal government. The Abbeville City council is a body comprised of five members elected from the five districts of the municipality. Although each Council member is elected by individual districts, when assembled, they establish policies for the entire municipality. You are encouraged to contact your council member with any concerns that arise using the contact information below.

Councilman Terry Allums

District 1
Elected:  2016-2020

Commission Assignments:
Recreation Board Chairman
Abbeville Memorial Library Foundation
Planning Commission
Cemetery Committee
Southeast Alabama Regional Planning
Commission Board


Councilman Brendt Murphy

Mayor Pro-Tempore
District 2
Elected: 2016-2020

Councilwoman Dorothy L. Baker
District 3
Elected: 2016-2020Commission Assignments:
Abbeville Historic Preservation Commission
Councilwoman Rena’ Cosby
District 4

Elected: 2016-2020

Commission Assignments:

Abbeville Memorial Library Board

  Councilman Harold Robison, Jr.
District 5
Elected: 2016-2020
Commission Assignments:Abbeville Water Board Administrative Superintendent