The Historic Preservation Commission was established by ordinance in 2011 by the City Council. The purpose and intent of this Ordinance is to establish a uniform procedure for use in providing for the protection, enhancement, perpetuation and use of places, districts, sites, buildings, structures, objects, landscape features and works of art having a special historical, cultural or aesthetic interest or value within the City of Abbeville. Members are appointed by the Council.  All policies, districts, maps, etc. must be approved, amended or denied by the City Council.

The Commission shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the Mayor and ratified by the City Council.  To the extent possible, all members shall be residents of the (Jurisdiction) and shall be persons who have demonstrated training of experience in history, architecture, architectural history, American studies, cultural geography, cultural anthropology, planning, archaeology, law, or other related historic preservation field or who shall be residents of a historic district.

Members shall serve three year terms.  Members may be reappointed.  In order to achieve staggered terms, initial appointments shall be:  Two (2) members for one (1) year; two (2) members for two (2) years; and three (3) members for three (3) years.  Members shall not receive compensation, although they may be reimbursed for expenses incurred on behalf of the Commission. Members serve a three year term.

Name Title Term Expires: (3 Year Terms)
Lucky Armstrong Chairman 09/30/2016
Dorothy Baker 09/30/2014
Paulette Riley 09/30/2013
Jimmy Mitchell 09/30/2014
Jimmy Rane 09/30/2014
Ryan Blalock 09/30/2015
Cheryle Webster 09/30/2015

Comments are closed.

Close Search Window